Prayers and scriptures before bed!

Ever since Parker was little, we have been praying with him before bed. It is a ritual we never miss and one that Ryann now loves as well. We found that Parker had a rough time praying about whatever he was thinking…it just became monotonous for him…thanking God for the same things and saying he was sorry for being bad. Although those are great things, I felt he could learn more of what God wanted for us if we started saying prayers that he could memorize and actual begin to think about what they mean.

Here are two of our favorites:

“Matthew, Mark, Luke and John,
Bless this bed I sleep upon,
Four corners to my bed,
Four angels surround my head,
One to watch, one to pray and
Two to keep all harm away.”

“I love you God with all my might,
Keep me safe all through the night.”

Well, after about a week, he had them memorized and it was time for more. This time I decided to use scripture that related to children…about love, discipline, character, etc. And it’s starting to payoff. During a tantrum and an argument this morning, Parker apologized “Mom, I didn’t remember my prayer ‘be quick to listen’.”

This is when I feel I’m doing MY job right…I can only hope and pray that my children stay interested in learning the word of the Lord and applying it to their daily lives.

20121016-222327.jpg
These are the notecards we use. We let each child pick one or two cards and either read the scripture or say the prayer. It’s a great way for them to learn to take turns, each one going first one night then alternating and they also hear the other one praying too!

One thought on “Prayers and scriptures before bed!

Leave a Reply

