Trying to keep things in perspective!

So, today, I’m struggling as a Mom.  I’m tired.  We had a great weekend away.  Traveling with the kids went so smoothly and I couldn’t have been more proud of their behavior on the flights.  Now, how they acted at certain times during our trip is a different story, but for this blog, I’m focusing on today.

If there is one thing that I’ve learned today, it’s that nothing is as bad as it seems.  However, in the moment, it can seem awful!  Let’s start with an example of how extreme things are around here and why I can’t feel like I have a grasp on anything.  While getting my son ready for school this morning, I asked him to go to the bathroom, put on his clothes, and get ready to brush his teeth, all of which I received an “ok, mom, no problem.”  Immediately following those steps, he says “Mom, I’ll go get my shoes on for you.”  My husband chimes in “Who is this kid?” After the last few power struggles with him, I was beginning to think we were losing control of his behavior.  Parker then tells me “I’m going to have good behavior for you today.”  Phew!  I get a chance to have a normal day!  Wrong!  I pick him up from school and head to the grocery store with all 3 kids, which usually goes okay for me. Well, without all the details, we had LOTS of crying, and ‘a talking to’ in the bathroom, and more crying…we couldn’t get things together.  I say “we” because I’m referring to me too…when a Mom is tried, it is really hard to handle these public situations the best way you’d like to…but for that moment, it was my best.  About half way through the grocery store, my kids start talking again, laughing at their silliness as if nothing just happened back there in isles 1-5.  Really, kids?  Just like that, it’s no big deal?  Well, not for me…I’m still mad and disappointed in everyone, including myself.

I get in my nice warm van, kids are happy with the DVD player on and as I head out of the parking lot I see a car smashed into the metal gate of the lot, which was knocked over onto about 3 more cars and people in shock all around.  I have no idea what happened, but I started to put things into perspective…I am very thankful for the disruption my kids caused while shopping, it slowed us down about 10 minutes and kept us from being involved in that accident.  I always have K-Love on in the car, and they were talking about disaster relief…wow, another slap in the face…keep things in perspective, Tracy!  It was time to stop wallowing in my self pity and remember those who are really suffering.  I prayed all the way home for those dealing with the storms in the east, families who struggle with making ends meet, people who are dealing with health issues and for God to forgive me for my lack of patience with my children.

Then, I get home, put groceries away, make lunch, get my two oldest kids down for a nap and attempt to get my 3rd down and the nightmare begins again…he cries, and cries…I remember how this all started today…I’m tired!  I haven’t had much sleep lately due to my 4 month old’s lack of sleep schedule.  I thought maybe, just maybe, if all 3 could sleep at once, I could catch up a bit…you know that saying “sleep when your baby sleeps?”, my baby needs to sleep first in order for that to happen. The crying stops, I check on him and he is full of smiles…another look at perspective–I have a happy healthy baby boy who just doesn’t want to sleep!

So, today, I’m still struggling, but I’m keeping it all into perspective.  Nothing ever goes as planned and it may be total chaos at times, but I’m grateful for all the blessings we have in our lives.

But to keep it all in perspective…I’m still tired!  and we are carving pumpkins tonight…

5 thoughts on “Trying to keep things in perspective!

  1. Oh Tracy, how I completely relate to your blog post in every way since we have kids almost the same age! You aren’t alone with these situations, trust me. I go through many of the thoughts you had today on a regular basis. We are doing the best we can as mothers & I sometimes lay in bed & try to think about what I can do differently to make situations go smoother, make them behave better, etc… But then I realize at the end of our chaotic day, the last thing my kids remember is me giving them hugs, kisses & prayers before bedtime, no matter how badly they misbehaved that day. A mother’s unconditional love – that’s what matters the most & they feel that over everything else. Thanks for your sharing your feelings. Love ya!!! 🙂

    • Thanks, Kari! I totally agree with you! I definitely feel like there are times when I can’t get a grip on things then bedtime routine comes and I can thank The Lord that tomorrow is a new day! Lets just hope there are a few more hours of shut eye in between! 🙂

  2. Tracy, Thank you so much for sharing. I have been having the exact same struggles this week. I have had too many things on my plate lately, and tensions have definitely been high in the Hallberg household. I am constantly reminded of how truly blessed I am when I see the struggles others have to face; however, it is difficult to maintain that perspective when you are in the heat of the moment. Asking for help, patience and forgiveness when it comes to the kids has been a regular on my prayer list. It is a big help to know that I am not alone in the struggle. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

