THE Christmas tree!

I couldn’t have been more excited to get our Christmas tree this year.  We live in a new place, one in which has a perfect spot for the tree…a big one (compared to the tiny ones we’ve had in our condo years past).  Getting a REAL tree is important to me; it was a tradition for me growing up, one I will NEVER give up!  When this time rolls around Chris gets a little apprehensive.  He doesn’t like the hassle with getting it in the house, the needles all over, having to remember to water it, and not to mention the cost of a tree in Chicago and the ridiculous process of disposing it here too.  Grabbing a tree from a random parking lot is definitely not like I remember growing up, but hey, the smell of the tree in my house during that month is what brings back the memories.  We used to have a lot of trees right out our door at our old condo, but this year we had to make the trip out to get one.  We contemplated getting one from Home Depot as we’ve heard they were cheaper there…the day we were getting the tree I was told Costco was the place to go…so there we went!

I may have the most beautiful 8 foot tree I’ve ever had, and yes, we did get it out of the back of a semi-truck in the parking lot of Costco…however all parties in this family are happy…I have a huge pretty tree and it only cost us $27!  That was a steal!

DSC_0004

Our kids running through a parking lot next to a semi-truck full of trees…not what I remember growing up, but can you imagine what they will think when they actually get to visit a Christmas tree farm one day?!

DSC_0001 DSC_0002 DSC_0003 DSC_0006 DSC_0007 DSC_0084 DSC_0086 DSC_0102120112-1048

Leave a Reply

