Our baby boy is 6 months old!

Where has the time gone?  That’s a phrase I’ve said WAY too much lately, however, I’m afraid as my kids get older it’s going to be one I think daily.  We have been enjoying all the new things Garrett has learned over the last couple of weeks and frankly are a bit shocked at how quickly this little man is developing.  But then again, I’ve always said that he would be my “go-getter” considering his very quick delivery at birth.

On December 4th, at 5 1/2 months, this boy started getting up on all fours to crawl.  He would wobble back and forth until his arms and legs would collapse underneath him.  Although he didn’t have the crawling down yet, you could see the determination in his eyes that if he wanted something he was going to get it…he would log roll across the floor and twist and turn until he got there.  I just knew at that point he would be crawling before Christmas.  Well he is, but it’s the infamous army crawl.

Garrett still hasn’t officially become a sitter considering that once he is sitting up, he just dives forward onto his tummy, which is his favorite place right now.  I have not seen a child who loves tummy time and playing on his tummy like Garrett.  He is just so active and my first child (of the 3) who has taken “baby-proofing” to a whole new level.

He is now eating his first solid foods.  So far he’s had rice, oatmeal, applesauce, peas, and zucchini.  I’ve been making his baby food so far, but I can tell you, it won’t be for much longer as the time commitment has been difficult, but as always, I just do my best.  He loves to spit and do raspberries which is so much fun when he’s eating! HA!

Our Dr. told us at Garrett’s 6 month appointment that it is possible he’ll be walking by 9 months.  She could not believe how active he was and all the things he could already do.  Looks like things are only going to get busier for us.  He weighed 15lbs 2oz and was 26 3/4in long.  He’s in the 10th percentile for weight and 50th for height (not sure where he gets that!).

Most people dread the winter months of Jan/Feb, but I’m actually looking forward to them.  A chance to slow down after the last two busy months and enjoy my babies!

DSC_0090 DSC_0112 DSC_0109 DSC_0100 DSC_0098 DSC_0097 DSC_0092 DSC_0123 DSC_0122 DSC_0121 DSC_0119 DSC_0117 DSC_0113 DSC_0141 DSC_0140 DSC_0135 DSC_0133 DSC_0127 DSC_0124

Leave a Reply

